Graduate conferences

Hello everyone,

here it is – late, but it’s here. My little report from the US conference I went to.

I had a wonderful conference. The atmosphere was friendly, and so were the people. The questions were to the point and critical, but not aggressive or destructive. For the first time in my philosophy “career”, I really enjoyed standing in front of people at a conference and have them listen to my thoughts. And I am pretty sure that this is to be attributed to the fact that there were almost only doctoral students present. No distinguished professors, who had to prove that they’re worth their salary. Only highly motivated and interested grad students.

In a nutshell: I think graduate conferences are just the best.

If my hypothesis is correct, than this – to put it very carefully – is nothing professors should be proud of.

Leave a Reply

