pop culture references for philosophers

Lately, I felt that I could use some light entertainment. Hence, I decided to read a Dan Brown novel. Since Inferno posters are all around due to the movie version that is about to come to our theatres, I chose that one.

I was very surprised when analytical philosopher Saul Kripke was mentioned in it, and in a very nerdy way, it made me proud that “we” as philosophers made it into that book.

The book is not too bad, by the way. It’s decent entertainment, it raises an interesting ethical question and the clichée white male professor protagonist does not start an affair with his female sidekick. Not too bad.

Leave a Reply

