Having goals

I have not written on this blog for quite some time now. That’s a shame because one of my goals was to make writing on this blog one of my habits – something that just comes naturally. Well, I am back, and I brought some more goals. Luckily, this means I have something to write about now!

First, I am thinking about following the lead of a friend who tries to read 50 books a year. I am not sure about the quantum yet, but I really like the idea. (So the goal, to be precise, is to work out a manageable goal here.)

Second, I would like to lose a tiny bit of weight. This one is tough for me because I am super aware of the pressure on women to be a certain size and I really don’t want to be part of that “only super skinny is beautiful” culture. But my body and how I feel in it are not primarily political but mainly very, very private. And privately, I really love my favourite pair of jeans, so I’d really love to be able to wear it and sit down comfortably at the same time.

Third, I would like to give sports practice the priority it deserves. There are many reasons for that and one of the most convincing ones is that I pay a considerable monthly membership fee. So I better learn to say “No, I am sorry, I am not free Monday and Friday night”out loud.

Most importantly: Dissertation stuff. Always. There is always a dissertation-related something that needs to be achieved. It will be like that for another couple of years.

So if I won’t be writing for a week or two, you’ll know that I am busy pursuing one of these other goals!

Leave a Reply

